Reply
Kilobyte Kid
germanfotografo
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-21-2013
0
Accepted Solution

is it possible work with only 1 x 8gb slot?

I have a Mac mini, i5, mid 2011, with 2x1gb, and I´m thinking in order 1x8gb.

Does computer need 2 memory slots to work, or is it right with only 1x8gb?

Maybe I can try 8 + 1, I don´t know.....

What do you recomend?

Community Manager
Crucial_Junket
Posts: 2,377
Registered: ‎05-25-2011
0

Re: is it possible work with only 1 x 8gb slot?

in reply to germanfotografo

Hi germanfotografo,

 

I have had a look in to the i5 models from 2011 and they can take up to 16GB of memory.

 

The memory does not need to be matching so for example you could install an 8GB module next to a 1GB memory module.   We would always recommend having matching pairs but it will work perfectly fine with an 8GB module.

 

The 8GB module that's compatible with your system can be found HERE and it's guaranteed to be compatible with your system.

Junket, Crucial Moderator UK
________________________
How do I know what memory to buy?
Shop for your region: US | UK | EU | France | Global
I think my memory is bad. What do I do now?
FAQs and Top Forum Solutions
We want your feedback! Post in the Suggestion Box
Did a user help you? Say thanks by giving Kudos!
Still need help? Contact Customer Service
Kilobyte Kid
germanfotografo
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-21-2013
0

Re: is it possible work with only 1 x 8gb slot?

in reply to Crucial_Junket

Thank you very much! 

Anyway, my model is  mid 2011, 2.3 Gh, so I think the compatible memory is this one, isn´t it?

http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/mpartspecs.aspx?mtbpoid=F8AA9328A5CA7304

Community Manager
Crucial_Junket
Posts: 2,377
Registered: ‎05-25-2011
0

Re: is it possible work with only 1 x 8gb slot?

in reply to germanfotografo

Hi germanfotografo,

 

Thanks for your reply.  I'm sorry I was unaware of your processor speed so recommended memory based on the most common one we see.

 

The memory you have linked to would be perfect for your system and guaranteed to be compatible.

Junket, Crucial Moderator UK
________________________
How do I know what memory to buy?
Shop for your region: US | UK | EU | France | Global
I think my memory is bad. What do I do now?
FAQs and Top Forum Solutions
We want your feedback! Post in the Suggestion Box
Did a user help you? Say thanks by giving Kudos!
Still need help? Contact Customer Service
Kilobyte Kid
germanfotografo
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-21-2013
0

Re: is it possible work with only 1 x 8gb slot?

in reply to Crucial_Junket

Thank you very much!! I´m going to buy now!!