Issue with SSD freezing.

SOLVED
Kilobyte Kid

Re: Issue with SSD freezing.

The chipset in the enclosure may not know how to switch the drive out of sata low power mode. It is a newly used feature since a few years ago of the sata spec I think, but I am no expert.
Kilobyte Kid

UPDATE: It was the enclosure indeed. I bought the NexStar CX  USB 3.0 2.5 "External enclosure from Crucial and it works perfectly fine. I am gettings speeds close to what was advertised.

bphj0PU

Thanks for all the help.  For anyone looking for the same enclosure in the future here is the link: http://www.crucial.com/usa/en/ctencloseusb3

JEDEC Jedi

Thanks for an update! It seems that Spathi may be right and maybe the enclosure chipset is important. Well, more important that I thought before Smiley Happy

FAQs and Top Forum Solutions
Did a user help you? Say thanks by giving Kudos!
How do I know what memory to buy?
Still need help? Contact Crucial Customer Service
Remember to regularly backup your important data!

Kilobyte Kid

I purchased the MX300 as a replacement for the internal HDD on my Dell Studio laptop.  I made a mirror image of the drive with Windows 10 as the operating system.  I see it lock up within minutes with 100% disk use in the Task Manager but no data activity going to or from the drive.  Microsoft defined an issue and supposedly fix, but it has not worked for me.  I have also tried 8-10 other suggestions from various online resources and nothing has worked.  I disabled Norton and used Defender but that did not work.  Disabling "all" virus programs does not make sense in the real world as a fix so I did not try that.  One article from Dec 2016 says MS is aware of the problem and working on a fix, but it seems to be a difficult problem to solve.  I just had several Windows 10 updates now in April 2017 and they do not fix it either.