Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Kilobyte Kid
harvey1
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-26-2013
0
Accepted Solution

M4 64GB wont seem to update from 0002

Hello, recently just started getting the BSOD and found out it was due to the firmware on my ssd. Anyways ive tried to update it using the updater application but got the message 'failed to place files'. So then tried doing it manually by booting it from a usb then i got the message 'an error occured during firmware update'. so if anyone can suggest any solutions that would be great, cheers.

JEDEC Jedi
bogdan
Posts: 1,549
Registered: ‎09-26-2012
0

Re: M4 64GB wont seem to update from 0002

in reply to harvey1

You could try to change SATA mode in BIOS to IDE/Leagacy/Compatibile in order to perform the update with USB pendrive. Just remember to switch back to former mode just after update and prior next OS startup.

______________________________________

FAQs and Top Forum Solutions
Did a user help you? Say thanks by giving Kudos!
How do I know what memory to buy?
Still need help? Contact Crucial Customer Service
Remember to regularly backup your important data!

Community Manager
Crucial_Junket
Posts: 2,438
Registered: ‎05-25-2011
0

Re: M4 64GB wont seem to update from 0002

in reply to harvey1

Hi harvey1,

 

I'm sorry to hear that you are having problems updating the firmware.  You should be able to upgrade to the most recent firmware (070H) directly from 0002.  What I would recommend is the same as what Bogdan has suggested and that's to change your drive to IDE in BIOS.

 

To do this you will need to enter the BIOS at start up, a message will display at the bottom of your screen when you start the system saying something like "Press F2 to enter set up"  this should take you in to the BIOS screen.  In here you can locate the hard drive or storage section and change the SATA mode to IDE. 

 

You should then be able to do the firmware update no problem at all.  Please let us know how it goes and if there is anything else that we can help you with.

Junket, Crucial Moderator UK
________________________
How do I know what memory to buy?
Shop for your region: US | UK | EU | France | Global
I think my memory is bad. What do I do now?
FAQs and Top Forum Solutions
We want your feedback! Post in the Suggestion Box
Did a user help you? Say thanks by giving Kudos!
Still need help? Contact Customer Service
Kilobyte Kid
harvey1
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-26-2013
0

Re: M4 64GB wont seem to update from 0002

in reply to Crucial_Junket

thanks for the replies, i have tried that and still get the same message coming up. Ive also tried to update it on another computer but its exactly the same

Memory Leak Geek
lenfish
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-01-2009
0

Re: M4 64GB wont seem to update from 0002

in reply to harvey1

Apologies if you have already done this, but have you checked the disk properties to see which firmware is shown? I had a similar message to you when updating from a USB stick but the update was in fact successful, as shown in the disk properties!

 

Regards,

 

Len 

Kilobyte Kid
harvey1
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-26-2013
0

Re: M4 64GB wont seem to update from 0002

in reply to harvey1
Yeah I've already tried that and its still at 0002
JEDEC Jedi
bogdan
Posts: 1,549
Registered: ‎09-26-2012
1

Re: M4 64GB wont seem to update from 0002

in reply to harvey1

You could try to use some intermediary version first. 000F or 0309 perhaps? I can recall that worked for some users.

______________________________________

FAQs and Top Forum Solutions
Did a user help you? Say thanks by giving Kudos!
How do I know what memory to buy?
Still need help? Contact Crucial Customer Service
Remember to regularly backup your important data!

Kilobyte Kid
harvey1
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-26-2013
0

Re: M4 64GB wont seem to update from 0002

in reply to harvey1
Thanks again for the response, yeah I could give that a go where can I download them from?
JEDEC Jedi
bogdan
Posts: 1,549
Registered: ‎09-26-2012
0

Re: M4 64GB wont seem to update from 0002

in reply to harvey1

Quite often you can find the links in most recent firmware thread. Please try here :smileyhappy:

______________________________________

FAQs and Top Forum Solutions
Did a user help you? Say thanks by giving Kudos!
How do I know what memory to buy?
Still need help? Contact Crucial Customer Service
Remember to regularly backup your important data!

Kilobyte Kid
harvey1
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-26-2013
0

Re: M4 64GB wont seem to update from 0002

in reply to bogdan

finally some progress it has seemed to update to 000f, ill try and get see 070h will work now

 

cheers

Our Latest Posts