Methods for Erasing an SSD

by Moderator Moderator ‎11-15-2016 08:58 AM - edited ‎11-15-2016 10:59 AM (15,286 Views)

There are several effective methods for removing the contents of an SSD. Please note, any of these will delete any operating system data, user data, and other contents of the partitions currently on the drive, and some methods also remove the partitions themselves. Information stored in the controller remains unaffected, such as the firmware and SMART data.

 

Running the ATA SECURITY ERASE command requires the use of 3rd party software. We do not endorse any specific software, though our parent company Micron offers guidance on one such option here.

 

Our Storage Executive tool offers a Sanitize Drive function and a PSID Revert function, both of which will erase an SSD's contents. Details on these and other Storage Executive functions are here.

 

Operating system-specific tools for removing partitions and data are below.

 

Follow these steps to delete partitions in Windows:

- Ensure the SSD is connected and is not the boot drive
- In Windows 7, right-click Computer and select Manage to enter Computer Management. Under Storage, select Disk Management. In Windows 8 and later, hold the Windows key and press 'X' to open an application menu including "Disk Management", and select it

- A list of the connected drives will appear in Disk Management
- In the lower right hand pane, find the drive you want to erase
- Right click on each partition and select Delete Volume.

 

Diskpart, a Windows command line tool for removing data and returning a drive to an uninitialized state, is detailed here.


Follow these steps to delete partitions in OSX:

- Ensure the SSD is connected and is not the boot drive
- In Finder, go to Utilities and open the Disk Utility
- Highlight the SSD, and go to the Partition tab
- Under Partition Layout, select 1 Partition
- Click on Options... and make sure that GUID Partition Table is selected.
- Click on Apply to create a single large partition on the SSD.
- After the partition is created, click on it so it becomes highlighted. Click the minus sign (-) to remove the partition.


If you see performance loss following one of these processes, you will need to let the drive sit idle for an extended period to allow an in-built function called Garbage Collection to clean all the cells and effectively prepare the drive for re-use.

Contributors