Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Kilobyte Kid
chyokohama
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-12-2013
0

failed firmware update on M4 128GB

I recently updated from 040H to 070H under Win8. After waiting a few minutes, I was told the update failed. However after reboot the machine didn't show anything wrong. The next day, the PC didn't recognize this SSD any more. I tried to reflash the firmware again using a USB. It recognize the SSD, however it says already latest version 070H in place, so no update needed. Now my question is: will a re-flash help solve the problem and how to force the update?

Community Manager
Crucial_YogiH
Posts: 1,214
Registered: ‎06-21-2011
0

Re: failed firmware update on M4 128GB

in reply to chyokohama

Hi chyokohama,

 

I am sorry that you have been having issues upgrading your firmware. What method were you using to update the firmware? Have you tried the manual boot disc version? In order to upgrade the firmware using a manual boot disc you would go to the firmware page:

http://www.crucial.com/support/firmware.aspx

 

Then select your SSD model, there should be an option: Manual Boot File for Windows and Mac

 

This should allow you to download a zipped ISO file for writing to CDROM.

Download, unzip and write the ISO image to your recordable media.

Then boot the pc from CDROM to update the SSD.

 

Please let me know if you have any other questions or concerns about this method.

YogiH, Crucial Moderator, US


________________________________________
How do I know what memory to buy?
Shop for your region: US | UK | EU | France | Global
I think my memory is bad. What do I do now?
FAQs and Top Forum Solutions
We want your feedback! Post in the Suggestion Box
Did a user help you? Say thanks by giving Kudos!
Still need help? Contact Customer Service
Kilobyte Kid
chyokohama
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-12-2013
0

Re: failed firmware update on M4 128GB

in reply to Crucial_YogiH

Hi YogiH, thanks for kind advice.

 

I have tried the manual update. It seems the failed update under Windows 8 has updated the version to 070H to somehow. So when I try to re-update with 070H using manual method, the program did not reflash as it prompts "already latest version, no need to update". I want to know how to force update the same version and wonder if it will solve the issue.

 

update: after trying the power circle method menthioned in the forum, the system recognize the disk and boot into the system. However sometimes boot is not very stable as sometimes it shows win8 mark, then shut down automatically.

 

Thanks for the help.

Community Manager
Crucial_YogiH
Posts: 1,214
Registered: ‎06-21-2011
0

Re: failed firmware update on M4 128GB

in reply to chyokohama

You're welcome, chyokohama.

 

From everything that you have told me the firmware is installed and so it will not need to be reflashed. Is the real problem that the computer is not recognizing the SSD? Did this start previously to the firmware update or is it a new issue you just started experiencing. Thank you in advance for this information.

YogiH, Crucial Moderator, US


________________________________________
How do I know what memory to buy?
Shop for your region: US | UK | EU | France | Global
I think my memory is bad. What do I do now?
FAQs and Top Forum Solutions
We want your feedback! Post in the Suggestion Box
Did a user help you? Say thanks by giving Kudos!
Still need help? Contact Customer Service
Kilobyte Kid
chyokohama
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-12-2013
0

Re: failed firmware update on M4 128GB

in reply to Crucial_YogiH

Hi YogiH,

 

This is the first time that BIOS cannot recognize M4 128G that has been sitting there for a year and half. It was perfectly stable under 040H that I upgrated from 0309 under Windows 8.

 

Anyhow this sysmtem is up and running now. no more weird shut down, benchmark looks normal too. just hope it will be stable..

 

thanks.

Community Manager
Crucial_YogiH
Posts: 1,214
Registered: ‎06-21-2011
0

Re: failed firmware update on M4 128GB

in reply to chyokohama

Thank you for the update. I am glad to hear it is stable. If you have any more issues please let us know and we can try and figure out what is causing it.

YogiH, Crucial Moderator, US


________________________________________
How do I know what memory to buy?
Shop for your region: US | UK | EU | France | Global
I think my memory is bad. What do I do now?
FAQs and Top Forum Solutions
We want your feedback! Post in the Suggestion Box
Did a user help you? Say thanks by giving Kudos!
Still need help? Contact Customer Service
Our Latest Posts