Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Kilobyte Kid
braxx21
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-07-2011
0

Simple RAM speed test??

Is there a SIMPLE test to check the speed of my RAM? I have just purchased from you additional RAM and I would like to do a 'before and after" test. Google search yields some rather involved and lengthy tests.

I have W XP professional with 512 RAM and a kit to install 512 more.

Thank you

Bank and Slot Hot Shot
lsdmeasasp
Posts: 4,404
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
0

Re: Simple RAM speed test??

[ Edited ]
in reply to braxx21

Ya, there is a few I can think of that are free, I'd go ahead and do them all then compare

 

Maxxmem2

http://www.maxxpi.net/pages/downloads/maxxmemsup2---preview.php

 

AIDA64 (Use the benchmark in  the toolbar - Tools then Cache and Memory benchmark)

http://www.aida64.com/downloads

 

Geekbench

http://www.primatelabs.ca/geekbench/

Kilobyte Kid
braxx21
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-07-2011
0

Re: Simple RAM speed test??

in reply to lsdmeasasp

Thank you. I ran Geekbench and as a complete novice, which of the resulting scores refer to the SPEED that my ram is performing so that I can then install the additional ram to see if there is a change ( other than that the program lists  the amount of installed ram)?


lsdmeasasp wrote:

Ya, there is a few I can think of that are free, I'd go ahead and do them all then compare

 

Maxxmem2

http://www.maxxpi.net/pages/downloads/maxxmemsup2---preview.php

 

AIDA64 (Use the benchmark in  the toolbar - Tools then Cache and Memory benchmark)

http://www.aida64.com/downloads

 

Geekbench

http://www.primatelabs.ca/geekbench/


 

Bank and Slot Hot Shot
lsdmeasasp
Posts: 4,404
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
0

Re: Simple RAM speed test??

in reply to braxx21

In the results window, at the top you will see memory and stream for the bottom two results (Of the top four), those are memory, like you see in this image.

 

 

Then you can scroll down to the bottom and see other sets of scores within those sections that make up that overall total.

 

 

Kilobyte Kid
braxx21
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-07-2011
0

Re: Simple RAM speed test??

in reply to lsdmeasasp

lsdmeasasp wrote:

In the results window, at the top you will see memory and stream for the bottom two results (Of the top four), those are memory, like you see in this image.

 

 

Then you can scroll down to the bottom and see other sets of scores within those sections that make up that overall total.

 

 


Thanks, I assume that the higher the number, the better. Is that correct?

Bank and Slot Hot Shot
lsdmeasasp
Posts: 4,404
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
0

Re: Simple RAM speed test??

in reply to braxx21

Sorry for the late reply!

 

For bandwidth yes, higher results are better!

 

For any Latency tests lower is better

Bit Baby
adam1
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-14-2012
0

Re: Simple RAM speed test??

in reply to lsdmeasasp

@lsdmeasasp

 

thank you for Maxxmem2 :smileywink:

 

Bit Baby
TankNyc
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-04-2012
0

Re: Simple RAM speed test??

in reply to braxx21

Hey to all. I cant figure out at what speed is my ram runing is it DMaxxMEM2_14413.jpgD3-1066 or 2132 Mhz? Here is shot from the test.

Bank and Slot Hot Shot
lsdmeasasp
Posts: 4,404
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
0

Re: Simple RAM speed test??

[ Edited ]
in reply to TankNyc

2133Mhz!

 

You can verify with CPU-z, in the Memory tab (not SPD).   Most current memory is DDR (Double Data Rate) so this means 1066 x 2 = 2133Mhz.   So that is why you see 1066 as well, CPU-z should show the memory speed as 1066 too, then you just double it for the actual "Effective" speeds

 

 

Kilobyte Kid
mandrakeman40
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-30-2011
0

Re: Simple RAM speed test??

in reply to lsdmeasasp

I don't know if this is the right way to respond to this forum topic, since I am new here, but if I am wrong, then I apologize up front for my mistake! But, the subject of this post, relates to the situation that I am inquiring about. I read Isdmeasasp very informative post, on which ram chips are what and what the different letters mean on the ram chips, as well as suggesting which ram chip meets the person's computer needs the most. They were very good posts!

 

Anyway, I myself ran the CPU-Z test, as well as Geekbench 2 test on my computer and the results of both were a little confusing to me. But, before I continue on with the results, then I better let you know what system that I am running on my computer, as to better help someone in getting the best answers to my questions! 

 

I just purchased an HP Pavilion g7 series laptop, with Windows 7 Home Premium and a QuadCore CPU, with AMD Radeon Graphics and 4 GB's of ram with a 500 GB HDD. One of the results of my CPU-Z test showed under the memory tab 673.1 MHz. It also said, that my Max. Bandwidth was PC3-12800 (800MHz). So, do these readings mean, that my computer uses PC3-10600 ram chips @ 1333MHz? If so, then that is the ram chip that I intend to purchase for my computer. 

 

Also, when I ran the Geekbench 2 test, it showed that I have 4.00 GB DDR3 SDRAM. But, this is where I am confused! I thought that SDRAM is an older type of ram chip and that I am running DDR3 chips instead? But, if I am reading this wrong, then it's my mistake and I apologize up front. I just want to make sure which ram chip that I need to purchase and install. Because I want to install another 4GB's of ram into my laptop, as to make it perform a lot better then it is right now. Besides, the site where I saw this computer advertised, the reviewers who also purchased this laptop, commented on how much faster this laptop performed, when upgraded to 8 GB's of ram.

 

I'm sorry about the long-winded post, but I wanted to make sure, that I included as much information as possible. Thank You. 

Our Latest Posts