Reply
Kilobyte Kid
dougleppard
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-17-2014
0
Accepted Solution

Blue Screen using M500

When my hard disk went out I got a M500 and love the speed.  Problem is that I immediately started getting blue screen of death once M500 installed.  Worked with Crucial’s helpdesk and finally they sent me to the forums.

The computer is usable but crashes anywhere from minutes to longest is a few days before a crash, lately it has been hourly or less.

 

It will sometimes crash before fully logged in.

 

Info on Dell system

  • Dell Latitude e4300
  • Win7 Ultimate 64 bit, service pack 1
  • Ram 8gb
  • Bios Dell a24 12/6/2011 (latest)
  • Crucial SSD M500 240gb

What I have done with Crucial Support:

  • Verified windows experience index HD transfer rate 7 or above (7.8)
  • Advanced HDD power settings set to never
  • Replace possible malfunctioning Serial ATA drivers uninstalled drivers and system ree-installed.
  • Installed latest bios from Dell
  • As suggested in forum
    • Selected AHCI selected in the bios
    • Ran Trim, reads ok
    • Defrag disabled

What do I do now?

JEDEC Jedi
bogdan
Posts: 1,422
Registered: ‎09-26-2012
1

Re: Blue Screen using M500

in reply to dougleppard

Hi,

 

It seems the latest BIOS for this laptop is A26 Release date 7/16/2013, I would try to update to this version.

Usualy clean Windows installation should go... in a clean way. Did you install drivers from Dell's site? 


dougleppard wrote:

Replace possible malfunctioning Serial ATA drivers uninstalled drivers and system ree-installed.


What do you mean by this? What was the version of SATA driver that was replaced/uninstalled? What is your current SATA driver version in use? You can check it with Device manager -> IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers -> right click on the selected controller -> Properties -> Driver tab

Most likely you should be using 11.7.x.xxxx version, and I would suggest trying this one 11.7.0.1013.

______________________________________

FAQs and Top Forum Solutions
Did a user help you? Say thanks by giving Kudos!
How do I know what memory to buy?
Still need help? Contact Crucial Customer Service
Remember to regularly backup your important data!

Kilobyte Kid
dougleppard
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-17-2014
0

Re: Blue Screen using M500

in reply to bogdan

Thank you so much bogdan, you are a Jedi, I gave you a kudos.

 

You were right I did have an older bios, I know in process AI did update the bios before but somehow didn't have the latest.

 

Soon after I changed the bios it crashed again.

 

Also I have a much older driver so I changed that, thanks for the link, you made it so much easier.

 

Now it is a wait and see if this is a solution or not.  If it does not crash by end of the day I will mark it as solved.

 

Doug

Kilobyte Kid
dougleppard
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-17-2014
0

Re: Blue Screen using M500

in reply to dougleppard

Thanks it has been 24 hours and no blue screen of death.  Thanks you for the effort was ready to buy another computer but now i don't have to.

JEDEC Jedi
bogdan
Posts: 1,422
Registered: ‎09-26-2012
0

Re: Blue Screen using M500

in reply to dougleppard

Good to read that! :smileylol:

______________________________________

FAQs and Top Forum Solutions
Did a user help you? Say thanks by giving Kudos!
How do I know what memory to buy?
Still need help? Contact Crucial Customer Service
Remember to regularly backup your important data!

Kilobyte Kid
dougleppard
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-17-2014
0

Re: Blue Screen using M500

in reply to bogdan

Well I went all day Friday with one frozen application.

 

Now Saturday and today my apps are freezing up (not reponding), never makes it to the blue screen.

 

Now what more driver updates?

 

Doug

JEDEC Jedi
bogdan
Posts: 1,422
Registered: ‎09-26-2012
0

Re: Blue Screen using M500

[ Edited ]
in reply to dougleppard

I guess so. Did you install other drivers from Dell's site? http://www.dell.com/support/drivers/pl/pl/pldhs1/Product/latitude-e4300?c=uk&s=dhs&l=en

Also sometimes optional drivers from Windows Update can solve some issues too.

 

It's odd the laptop was working stable for some time and then run into freezing.

______________________________________

FAQs and Top Forum Solutions
Did a user help you? Say thanks by giving Kudos!
How do I know what memory to buy?
Still need help? Contact Crucial Customer Service
Remember to regularly backup your important data!

Kilobyte Kid
dougleppard
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-17-2014
0

Re: Blue Screen using M500

in reply to bogdan

I haven't done the other updates yet.  But last two days absolutely no problems.  It is weird.  I even had lots of things open but not one hickup.  I will work on the other updates later, crashing on a project right now.

 

thanks for being my Jedi and helping all the people.