Reply
Binary Boss
Shadow771
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎04-26-2013
0

M4 128GB Random Lockups

[ Edited ]

I'm having issues with my Crucial M4 128GB randomly locking up. No BSOD, just a hard freeze that requires a reboot. It seems to happen randomly, sometimes after a few days of uptime, sometimes after just a few hours. Running 070H firmware. Any ideas?

 

JEDEC Jedi
targetbsp
Posts: 7,460
Registered: ‎08-27-2009
0

Re: M4 128GB Random Lockups

in reply to Shadow771

Nothing looks to be wrong in that smart info.

What makes you suspect the m4 over the hard drive that has a warning?

______________________________________

FAQs and Top Forum Solutions
Did a user help you? Say thanks by giving Kudos!
How do I know what memory to buy?
Still need help? Contact Crucial Customer Service
Remember to regularly backup your important data!

Binary Boss
Shadow771
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎04-26-2013
0

Re: M4 128GB Random Lockups

in reply to targetbsp

Do you think it could it be that drive? I'm not actually running anything from it. Hmm... I'll try disabling it and seeing if the problem still happens.

Binary Boss
Shadow771
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎04-26-2013
0

Re: M4 128GB Random Lockups

in reply to Shadow771

Unplugged old drive with warning as well as swapped in a new SATA cable for the M4. Doesn't seem to have fixed the problem. Still getting occasional hard freezes.

JEDEC Jedi
targetbsp
Posts: 7,460
Registered: ‎08-27-2009
0

Re: M4 128GB Random Lockups

in reply to Shadow771

Have you tried testing other hardware?  This is good: http://www.ocbase.com/

 

I'm not saying its not the drive its just it looks fine in SMART and I'm wondering what makes you think it is?  Are you suffering any data loss of I/O or CRC errors?  Or did the issue only occur after fitting the SSD or?

 

______________________________________

FAQs and Top Forum Solutions
Did a user help you? Say thanks by giving Kudos!
How do I know what memory to buy?
Still need help? Contact Crucial Customer Service
Remember to regularly backup your important data!

Binary Boss
Shadow771
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎04-26-2013
0

Re: M4 128GB Random Lockups

in reply to targetbsp

I'll give that tool a shot.

 

Yeah, I started having this issue after switching over to using the SSD for my OS. I'm not suffering any data loss or anything, just the occasional random lockup. A restart fixes it, but it can be annoying if I'm working on something at the time.

 

Will report back 

Binary Boss
Shadow771
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎04-26-2013
0

Re: M4 128GB Random Lockups

in reply to Shadow771

Ran tests with tool. No crashes from that. Got another freeze, and after rebooting from that got another one ~10 seconds after boot.

 

Any suggestions? I could give a full format of the disc and a re-install of Windows a shot.

JEDEC Jedi
bogdan
Posts: 1,407
Registered: ‎09-26-2012
0

Re: M4 128GB Random Lockups

in reply to Shadow771

Did you check system event viewer are there any errors entries that could help you troubleshoot this issue?

______________________________________

FAQs and Top Forum Solutions
Did a user help you? Say thanks by giving Kudos!
How do I know what memory to buy?
Still need help? Contact Crucial Customer Service
Remember to regularly backup your important data!

Binary Boss
Shadow771
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎04-26-2013
0

Re: M4 128GB Random Lockups

in reply to bogdan

Event viewer just gives me the generic Kernel-Power 41 error. I'm going to re-install my OS on a different drive to see if the same freezing issues show themselves. Will report back.

JEDEC Jedi
bogdan
Posts: 1,407
Registered: ‎09-26-2012
0

Re: M4 128GB Random Lockups

[ Edited ]
in reply to Shadow771

No problem. Since I have had similar issue with my other Marvell controlled SSD I was going to suggest LPM registry fix for you... You could try it prior OS reinstallation.

 

It is described here however I have had to apply it not only to:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor branch

but to

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStorV branch too.

 

That would be in case you use Intel RST AHCI driver.

 

You could also check some BIOS power settings in case there would be available for you.

______________________________________

FAQs and Top Forum Solutions
Did a user help you? Say thanks by giving Kudos!
How do I know what memory to buy?
Still need help? Contact Crucial Customer Service
Remember to regularly backup your important data!