Crucial MX500 SSD and BitLocker question

Kilobyte Kid

Crucial MX500 SSD and BitLocker question

This is my first time using an SSD drive for my laptop, so would like to ask the question below:

I need to use BitLocker in Software Encryption mode. I disabled BitLocker and then set the following Group Policy: Configure use of hardware-based encryption for operating system drives= DISABLED

I re-enabled BitLocker again, and this time seems to be Software based encryption again according to MANAGE-BDE -STATUS. 

After re-enabling BitLocker again which is now in Software Encryption mode, do I need to reinstall Windows 10?

Thanks!

8 Replies
JEDEC Jedi

Re: Crucial MX500 SSD and BitLocker question

I'm not a Windows user, but from my understanding you should be Ok without reinstalling if everything is working as you want it.

JEDEC Jedi

I'm curious, if you don't mind me asking, why would you use software encryption over hardware?  That seems an unnecessary performance overhead?

FAQs and Top Forum Solutions
Did a user help you? Say thanks by giving Kudos!
Still need help? Contact Customer Service
Want to be a Super User?
Kilobyte Kid

I still have the package and the package does not state that it uses encryption. This all came by suprise when I first inserted my SSD into my laptop and enabled BitLocker. The encryption was really quick, I mean in seconds instead of hours and that came to my suspicion that something was not right. So I went to the Command Prompt and entered MANAGE-BDE -STATUS and thats how I knew it was Hardware based encryption.

However, when I went to the MANAGE-BDE -STATUS for the BitLocker status information, what does the following nean below?

Encryption Method: Hardware Encryption - 1.3.111.2.1619.0.1.2

JEDEC Jedi