MX500 SATA SSD and SATA Operation in BIOS, what is the best option to select ?

SOLVED
Kilobyte Kid

MX500 SATA SSD and SATA Operation in BIOS, what is the best option to select ?

I have this Crucial MX500 SATA SSD installed on my desktop.

I am new with SSD as I have always used mechanical hard drives before and so I have couple of questions in mind if I can get answers from friendly community.

First of all let me explain what hardware setup I have to give you better understanding.

- Intel i7-4770 Processor on Intel Q87 Express Chipset

- 16GB Memory

- 3 x WD Black 320GB HDDs

- 1 x Crucial MX500 500GB SSD

- Intel Rapid Storage Technology used for RAID

I have set up SATA Operation to RAID On as the 2 x 320GB HDDs are in RAID-0 setup. I need it that way as intact.

My questions are as below.

1 - Is it ok to have SATA operation RAID On with SSD drive being OS drive for better performance as well as life span ?

2 - What if I have option to install M.2 PCIe SSD instead and in that case what should be best option for SATA Operation ?

3 - I have turned off auto defragmentation from Windows, what other optimizations should I do to have good SSD lifespan and performance ?

I have installed the Crucial Storage Executive already.

Any helpful information is much appreciated.

Thank you.

3 Replies
JEDEC Jedi

Re: MX500 SATA SSD and SATA Operation in BIOS, what is the best option to select ?

1) RAID on is fine.  The drive will then be considered a 'non-member' drive and will largely be treated as an AHCI drive - which is what you want.

2) Crucial disks don't support PCIe

3) You shouldn't do this on Windows 7 or later.  WIndows 7 will do that for you.  Windows 8 and later actually have an SSD friendly optimisation which you actively want to be enabled.

FAQs and Top Forum Solutions
We want your feedback! Post in the Suggestion Box
Did a user help you? Say thanks by giving Kudos!
Still need help? Contact Customer Service
Want to be a Super User?
Kilobyte Kid