MX500 not compatible due to encryption

Bit Baby

MX500 not compatible due to encryption

After using the Crucial website to see what drive were compatible with my Samsung NP355V5C-A06, I purchased a 1TB MX500 SSD.

When installing the drive, with a fresh version of Windows 10 (1803) everything works fine until the first reboot, where upon the laptop will just sit on the BIOS screen.

I have been in touch with Samsung and I am running the latest BIOS but they say due to the hardware encryption the drive will never boot.  I have used another SDD (Kingston) which does not have encryption and everything work fine.

I have tried setting a HDD BIOS password and everything else suggested on this board, but nothing works.

I am a computer engineer by trade and have installed SSD on a number of systems, but they all have been without encryption without any problems.

How do I disable the encryption?  Or can the drive be exchanged for one without encryption?

9 Replies
JEDEC Jedi

Re: MX500 not compatible due to encryption

I've never heard of a system not being compatible with SED drives.  Unless it's enabled, the host should be unaware of it: https://forums.crucial.com/t5/Crucial-SSDs/An-Overview-of-Hardware-Encryption/ta-p/181035

And as you can see in that article, it's always encrypted internally.

As far as I know, the BX series don't support encryption.

If you bought it from Crucials site after it had said it was compatible then it is guaranteed to be so, so if you contact support - they'll sort you out.  If you bought it from another store I'd have thought you'd need to contact them for a return?  But by all means try contacting Crucial support and see what they say.

FAQs and Top Forum Solutions
Did a user help you? Say thanks by giving Kudos!
Still need help? Contact Customer Service
Want to be a Super User?
JEDEC Jedi