Non-tech savvy: Cloning Bootable External Drive to New SSD (Help)

SOLVED
Highlighted
Kilobyte Kid

Non-tech savvy: Cloning Bootable External Drive to New SSD (Help)

Hi everyone,

As the title suggests, not too tech-savvy, and was wondering whether anyone could tell me if I'm on the right path.

Background: my Macbook Pro (13", Mid-2012) suddenly stopped working at the start of the year, after a High Sierra upgrade- a faulty SSD apparently (MX500, 500GB SATA- only 4 months old at the time). After many weeks of troubleshooting, the SSD was returned to Crucial for replacement. In the interim, I was able to bootup and continue using my Macbook from an external drive.

Currently: Just received the replacement SSD (same as above) & in the process of installing it- a few Q's though! 

[i] as I've been using the external drive to boot for the past 2 months, I've accumulated a lot of info/content that I'd like to keep, and ideally swap over/onto the new SSD. 

[ii] there's quite a lot of info out there on how to clone a HDD in-situ (one that's functional & currently in the machine) to a new SSD, but I haven't found a single article on how to clone a bootable external to a new SSD.

[iii] The external drive is my only backup, so I'm trying to get off it ASAP (2 months using it is long enough!)

External= 3TB, with 800GB devoted to Time Machine and the remaining 2.2TB to bootable/docs (only 90GB of this bit has been used- but it's an important 90GB, which is what I'd like to transfer over to the new SSD).

Questions:

(1) Can I clone my current bootable external to the new SSD? If so, would CCC do the job?

(2) Would the clone reflect my current settings/desktop/bookmarks?