Restoring a Mac Mini 2012 from HDD only to SSD + HDD Superdrive

Bit Baby

Restoring a Mac Mini 2012 from HDD only to SSD + HDD Superdrive

Hi All,

I am looking to install an SSD into my Mac Mini alongside the existing HDD. The SSD would hold at least the OS and possibly all of the application files also.

I have been using the mac for both personal and work for years.

Is there a way I can do a time machine backup or manual drag and drop of the system and restore it back to have the files where I want on the SSD?

Or is it more sensible to do a clean install and effectively rebuild my file system. Only issue is I have some older software which I still use but wouldn;t have half of the installation details I need to re-install.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated,

Tags (3)
1 Reply
JEDEC Jedi

Re: Restoring a Mac Mini 2012 from HDD only to SSD + HDD Superdrive

I have no experience with Time Machine so I cannot say.  

In my opinion your two best options are to do a clean install of OSX on the SSD (you need to format the drive before it will allow you to install to the new SSD), then during first boot allow Migration Assistant to transfer your User Account, apps, and settings.  If you have proprietary software such as MS Office, Adobe products, etc. which have license codes, you will need to reapply them with this method.  

The other option which might be better is to use Carbon Copy Cloner (CCC) to clone your original drive to the new SSD (make sure to format the new SSD with Disk Utility first so it will be seen by the app).   CCC allows you to select which items to include in the clone and it will also recreate the Recovery Partition for you.   Make sure to include your User Folder & settings (Library) even if you deselect all of the documents.   Normally CCC will transfer the licenses, but if you pick & choose the items, they may not transfer as I have no clue where these licenses are stored.