Should chkdsk be run regularly as part of SSD maintenance?

SOLVED
Kilobyte Kid

Should chkdsk be run regularly as part of SSD maintenance?

Should chkdsk /R be run regularly as part of SSD maintenance?

The reason I'm asking is that I my MX100 suddenly failed with 1633 bad blocks/clusters as reported by Ariolic Disk Scanner. chkdsk approximately confirmed the count and listed all the bad files. Symptoms were similar to what was reported in Is-my-mx100-almost-dead? I was trying to do a backup when I got a read error.

I wonder if I could have gotten a warning somehow? I run Storage Exec every quarter or so looking for new updates and checking the SMART for problems. I program flash sometimes for a living (Micron no less!) and know bad blocks are to be expected. And that reallocation and wear leveling should take care of everything behind the scenes. So it was really surprising to see all these bad blocks pop up suddenly.

If HWTech happens by, here is my SMART info:

CrucialMX100SMART.PNG

I didn't keep records so I don't know if there were any trends in the counts.  65152 Reported Uncorrectable Errors looks bad.  But only 1 retired NAND block and 1 reallocation event.  So where did all these bad blocks come from?

Most of the files with errors were Windows update files or DLLs or other files that weren't written frequently and weren't backed up.  There were a few working files that had bad blocks and I'm going to have to try to recover those off of backups.  I used Acronis with "ignore all errors" turned on to move everything to a spinning disk (oh, the slowness!) and sfc to verify the core OS (Win 8.1) was intact.

So maybe I should take snapshots of the SMART every time I run Storage Exec to look for trends? I'm nervous now and running chkdsk on all my Crucial SSDs (I have about 6 here).  And of course, keep up with the backups.

9 Replies
JEDEC Jedi

Re: Should chkdsk be run regularly as part of SSD maintenance?