Beeping noises after installing new RAM?

SOLVED
Kilobyte Kid

Beeping noises after installing new RAM?

Hi I am new to all this stuff about modifying computers but got fed up of only having 2GB RAM so decided to buy 1GB more, I didn't really know what to buy so used the crucialUKScan program and it recommended this, ; http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/partspecs.aspx?IMODULE=CT12864AA667

So when I put it into my computer and tried booting it up it made a few beeping noises and didn't boot up. I made sure I put it in firmly and it clicked it into position, although I can't help notice it is slightly taller than the other ones installed. I removed the new RAM and the computer works fine, so it's defineatly a problem with the RAM. I think I put it in the right way as the paper stickers of all the RAM modules where facing the same way, is the RAM not compatible? Or am I doing this wrong?

My computer is an E521 Dell Dimension with windows vista.

Help please Smiley Sad

Tags (1)
20 Replies
Kilobyte Kid

Re: Beeping noises after installing new RAM?

Ok I have a feeling crucial sent me the wrong part? I checked my order history and it shows they recommended me http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/mpartspecs.aspx?mtbpoid=E37B2E1EA5CA7304 and that is the one I ordered but they delivered me http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/partspecs.aspx?imodule=CT12864AA667.

Are they the same thing Smiley Indifferent? They seem to have the same specs only different part numbers.

Memory Hawg

Those are the same, the one number is just tied to your Dell system is all.