I just ran a crucial scan of my Dell Deminsion 4700 and ordered an upgrade to 4gb from 256mb. As a sub-novice I ask: Do I lose any info of mine from discarding the 256mb. Is it as easy as the "plug and play" video describes or are risks involved?
You would not lose any data. All of your data is stored on your hard drives. Memory is plug and play. When installing, make sure to line up the notch in the gold teeth with the ridge inside the slot. Press with a good 20 to 30 pounds of pressure until the clips close on their own. Once done, your system should boot and recognize the new RAM.